Pretty In Pink: The Perfect Cotton Dress

 

wearing: Vintage 80s Cotton Dress, thrift / Report Patent Faux Leather Sandals, Nordstrom Rack/ Mossimo Black Cat Eye Glasses,  Target  / Vintage Panamanian Malo Bag, Estate Sale / Silver Tone Onyx Ring, F21 / Vintage 70s Pendant Necklace, thrift

I’ve been trying to stay cool and sweat free as much as possible; I’m sure like many of you out there! I’ve been quite the whiner these last few weeks with the 100 degree weather throbbing on my skin. So as of late, I have not been wearing anything too dressy or that requires any layers! It’s been a simple streak and feel’s kind of unimpressive, but I guess if you think about it, it is everyday wear for those days you just want to be effortless; which pretty much has been everyday for me! The dress is a classic vintage 80’s cotton dress in a nice pop of color. I quite like the fit because even though it’s very plain it looks flattering on the body. If I could find these in all colors it would be a dream, but then it would only be what I want to wear!

I ended learning a great bit of interesting history of the bag you see above. I was stopped by a security guard in Wholefoods and was asked if my bag was Panamanian, which it was but I bought it at an estate sale. He then preceded to school me and told me that it is a handmade “mola” bag made by the indigenous people “the Kunas” from Panama, which is where he was from. I was delighted to hear it and told him that I was contemplating selling it but had fallen in love with it; to which he responded “no don’t, it’s not only a piece of art work but worth allot”! He said that Europeans go to purchase the bags and clothing and sell it at the range of $500 to $900 back home, woah! I can’t believe I only paid $3! The lady who owned the home was a world traveler. I love getting the history of clothing, it’s 2nd to buying it!

Are their any finds in which you had no idea how great the history was or that it was worth allot more then you thought?

 

Gisela

One comment

Leave a Reply

